Home Page

Organisation of Classes

Children spend seven years in their primary school, after Nursery, and each age group is classified as follows:


                   Age                             Year

    3  - 4   years old                Nursery

    4  - 5   years old                Foundation Stage

    5  - 6   years old                Year 1

    6  - 7   years old                Year 2

    7  - 8   years old                Year 3

    8  - 9   years old                Year 4

    9  -10  years old                Year 5

  10  -11  years old                Year 6


The number of pupils on the roll and the number of children in each year group govern the size of the classes. This often changes from year to year. Class sizes are kept as balanced as possible. 


Within each class, pupils are taught individually, as a group, or as a whole class but always according to their needs and abilities. In addition, pupils in KS2 are sometimes taught Literacy and Numeracy in flexible learning groups. All children between the ages of 5 and 11 study the National Curriculum.


The Nursery and Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation curriculum. This underpins all future learning by supporting, fostering and promoting children's development. Y1 and Y2 follow the Key Stage 1 Programmes of Study, and Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 follow the Key Stage 2 Programmes of Study.