Home Page

English Curriculum


The English curriculum is designed to support pupils in their acquisition and use of English from nursery through to year 6. It is based on the 2014 National Curriculum and as such sets a high standard for all.


The National Curriculum for English is broken down in these areas:

  • Spoken Language

  • Reading (word reading and comprehension)

  • Writing (composition and transcription)

  • Spelling, Vocabulary, Grammar and Punctuation

  • Phonics


Each of these builds on the relevant sections of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which are the focus in nursery and reception years.


This information seeks to give you an outline of how the curriculum is constructed. Your child’s teacher will be able to give more information as you require.


At Ravensfield, we teach and apply the required English skills across all levels and all subjects within Cornerstones and as stand-alone skill based lessons. You can also see how we use our creative curriculum to teach, practice and apply our English skills by clicking here.


Below are the National Curriculum objectives for each year group

  • Ravensfield Primary School
  • Clarendon Street, Dukinfield, Cheshire, SK16 4JG